Lock Approved Shifts for Payroll Processing

Locking approved shifts to prevent changes being made

This is a useful feature for admins or payroll teams to stop users making changes to shifts and approved hours whilst payroll is being processed.

You have the ability to Lock Shifts by Operation, Office code or by a certain Roster.

The ability to lock shifts is based on user permissions. Users with the permission 'Access Lock Shifts' will have the ability to Lock Shifts.

Once shifts have been locked by an Admin user, changes will not be able to be made unless: 

  • The shifts are unlocked so that changes can be made
  • The Admin user in question has the 'Edit payslips' permission turned on (this user will continue to be able to make changes to locked shifts- useful for Payroll managers etc).

 

In the below video, we show a quick demo of the following:

  • Lock shifts can now be locked by operation, roster and operation office code.
  • A User with 'edit payslips' permission can continue to make changes even with the shifts being locked.
  • Unlocking shifts

If you require more detail on any of the above, including how to access permissions for lock shifts, and the different views for different users, please read on.

  Please note this Screen Navigation has no sound, please watch and follow along for helpful tips on the lock shifts feature.

Enable the setting to allow locking by other users

The ability to lock shifts is based on user permissions.

  1. In the quick menu select the hamburger icon to open the full menu and select Platform Settings > Users.
  2. Select Permission groups and the pencil icon to edit the relevant permission group the Admin has assigned. 
  3. Select the admin can Access Lock Shifts to enable.
  4. Click Submit.

Access_Lock_Shifts_permission.png

The user will now see the lock shifts option in Approve Shifts.

To lock shifts in Approve Shifts

To use the Lock shifts function:

  1. Navigate to Time and Attendance > Approve Shifts.
  2. Before you lock any shifts, select the appropriate week that you wish to lock. For example, it might be last week.



  3. Select Lock All Shifts.
  4. You have the choice to Lock All Shifts or use the arrow to the right of the button to:
    • Lock by Operation 
    • Lock by Operation Office Code
    • Lock by Roster
  5. Select the timeframe you wish to lock. This will most likely be your pay period. You'll notice the dates you select will be called out in the blue area for clarity.
    • For a week
    • For a fortnight
  6. Next select the specific Operation/s, Office code/s or Roster/s. 
  7. Once you are happy with your choices, select Lock shifts in the bottom right hand corner.

In the below image example, we have chosen to lock the shifts from 28 Dec, 2020, for one week, and we have selected 3 rosters in particular (Back of House, Management, Front of House).

When the lock is on any shifts will appear as 'Locked shifts' as per below. This is regardless of the shift status, whether they are 'approved', 'declined' or 'on leave'.

 

 To unlock a locked shift:

You may find you need to unlock some locked shifts, for example, an employee had some time missed from their shift and you would like to add it in.

To unlock shifts:

  1. Click Lock All Shifts. This will say 'Unlock all Shifts' if you have locked shifts present.
  2. Click the Unlock Shifts button in the modal that pops up.

You will note the tool tip in the bottom of your screen, indicating that "Users with the 'Edit Pay' permission enabled will still be able to edit locked shifts". This means users with this permission enabled will not need to unlock shifts in order to make changes.

The unlocked shifts will now show without the lock icon. You are now able to edit the shift by clicking on the pencil icon. 

 

Different Lock shift views based on different permissions

Different Users will have different views of what Locked shifts will look like.

  • For example, as a user who has 'edit pay' permission enabled.

This user will see the lock icon next to shifts and will still be able to continue to edit shifts even when the lock is on. There will be no need to unlock shifts to make edits.


  • For example, as a user who has 'edit pay' permission off.

This user will see shifts greyed out when shifts are locked. They will not be able to make any changes without a super user unlocking the shifts for them, or making changes on their behalf.

 

 

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 3 found this helpful