Permission Groups

User settings, allows you to create and view user groups with pre-set permissions (via Group permissions)/ search restrictions. e.g. for Payroll, Recruitment, Management, Finance etc.

If you are a new admin and you cannot login into your url admin (usually yourcompany.foundu.com.au/admin) this means you may first need to be set up by an existing admin user.

This allows you to apply the user type when adding new users without having to manually apply each restriction.

Permission groups control what a user can see, whereas search restrictions control who a person can see. E.g. a manager seeing only their employees at their venue.

Once you have set up a user with permissions/restrictions - you can use the 'simulate user' button to login as them to check what they can see/have access to.  This is relevant when:

  • Setting up a new manager.
  • Note you can also use permission to Remove a manager's permissions. 

If you don't have access to menus (or tabs) in the dashboard or cannot certain information or see a page saying that you don't have permission, this may be because the task you're trying to do is permission controlled and may need another use to complete the task.

 

Create admin user (or deactivate)

To create a new admin user:

  1. In the quick menu, select the hamburger icon to open the full menu and select Platform Settings > Users this will display all user types including Admin (Super Users), Operation Users and Employee users. Users are filtered on Admin by default.
  2. Select Create Admin User to create a new admin user.

  3. Enter in:
    • The full Name of the user. This will automatically generate a unique username.
    • The Email address. This will be used to send them an email to set their password.
    • Their Mobile number. This is required if your users need to sign in using the SMS verification.
    • Permission, select your desired permission group e.g. managers view.
    • Search restriction, select the operation or specific rosters within that operation.
    • Turn on the blue toggle if the user should receive outstanding (STP) Single Touch Payroll submission reminders. This is mostly for finance/payroll teams.
    • Turn on the blue toggle if the new user is a manager Is this Admin assignable as a manager. This allows you to add this new user as a manager on the employee profile.
  4. Click Create User. Once you have done this, it is a good idea to 'simulate the user' to ensure you have allocated the correct permissions. To do this, select the ... under Actions on the right side, then select Simulate Restrictions.

  5. An email will be sent to the user to notify them and ask that they create their own password.

To deactivate an Admin user:

For audit purposes, Admin users are unable to be deleted, however they can be deactivated as a user meaning that they cannot access the platform. When they are deactivated the users will display in grey.

  1. In Users > Locate the Admin user you'd like to deactivate.
  2. Click on the ... and select Deactivate Admin User. Once selected their user colour will change from blue to grey.

Create a new permission group
  1. In Users, select a Permission Group > New Permission group
  2. Select if the Permission Group is for an Admin User or an Operation User.
  3. Under Label, name your permission group. e.g. Super User, Payroll, Recruitment, Supervisors.
  4. Deselect all the features the user should not be able to see. You can click the title of each category to bulk deselect.
  5. Click Save at the bottom. This group is now ready to apply to new and existing users.
  6. You'll then see the new permission group displayed. 

  • You can edit or delete the permission group as required.
  • You can also select the device icon to view the permission group.

Applying a permission group to a new user or existing user:

Permission groups control what a user can see (e.g. menus/functionality) and can be applied when setting up a new user, or by editing an existing. To apply to an existing user:

  1. In Platform Settings > Users > Users tab, find the user using the search bar.
  2. Select the arrow icon for the portal you wish to restrict (admin or operation).
  3. Click the Edit icon under Permissions. If you need to understand what a particular permission does, hover over it for a tool tip (explanation).
  4. Select the relevant Permissions Restriction Group, and click Save.

Simulate user permissions 
Once you have set your permission groups for your users, you can 'simulate' what the user sees with the permissions that you have applied to them.

To Simulate User permissions:

  1. In Platform Settings > Users > Permission groups tab (or Search restrictions tab)
  2. In Permission groups
    • The eye icon indicates which permissions you are presently seeing as a logged in user.
    • Select the device screen icon and this will show you the users permission view where you can navigate to see what the user can see from a permission perspective. Select cancel (in the orange banner at the top of your screen) to return back from the simulated view.

  • Adjust the permissions if required.
User search restriction group

Search restrictions allow you to restrict who your users can see. For example a manager may only see the particular employees that they manage.

You're able to add search restriction groups which can be useful for:

Restricting Admin User view in the below use cases:

  • Restricting the view of a user by office code: For example this can be helpful if you would like a manager to be able to only see employees with a specific office code.
  • Admin users are limited to seeing employees that are assigned to them as a manager, or if a certain status i.e. pending, approved. They cannot see Archived employees.
  • Employee tag restrictions. For example restricting admin view based on status tags created and applied to employees.

Restricting Operations User view:

  • For example if you would like a manager to be able to only see a particular roster (Kitchen roster) instead of seeing all rosters such as the Office Roster with Financial Analytics.

To set up a search restriction group:

To set up a search restriction group:

  1. In the quick menu, select the hamburger icon to open the full menu and choose Users > Search Restriction Groups tab.
  2. Select Create Search Restriction Group

To apply a search restriction to a user group:

  1. Select if the restriction applies to Admin or Operation portal users.
  2. Under Label enter a title for the group. e.g. Roster: Express Milton, Tags: Employee Stage. Office Code: Head Office.
    • This means that this user group can only see the Express Milton roster that contains employee tags, and head office tags.
  3. Apply the relevant restrictions by selecting what you want the group to be able to see.
  4. Click Save at the bottom. This search restriction group can now be applied when setting up / editing users.

 

*New* Export permission details
You can export your User's permission details including:
  1. Export all Admin users and their permission groups
  2. Export all the Permission groups (and each individual permission)
  3. Export Search Restriction group details (including tags, office codes and roster filters)

Users permission groups and status which can be useful for:

  • User audit purposes
  • Double checking permissions
  • Levels of access

Export all Admin users and their permission groups

  1. Navigate to the hamburger icon to open the full menu and select > Platform Settings > Users
  2. This will open the User permission. In the users tab on the right you will see a Export Admin Users button.

  3. Click on this and the file will download. 
  4. You will then be able to see a full list of all admin users and their permission groups, search restrictions and their status.

Export all the Permission groups (and each individual permission)

  1. Navigate to the hamburger icon to open the full menu and select > Platform Settings > Users
  2. This will open the User permission. In the Permission Group tab on the right you will see a Export Permission Group Users button.

  3. Click on this and the file will download. 
  4. You will then be able to see a full list of the permission groups and all the individual permissions that are enabled.

Export Search Restriction group details (including tags, office codes and roster filters)

  1. Navigate to the hamburger icon to open the full menu and select > Platform Settings > Users
  2. This will open the User permission. In the Search Restriction Group tab on the right you will see a Export Search Restriction Users button.

  3. Click on this and the file will download. 
  4. You will then be able to see a full list of the search restrictions, Operation, position and tag details.

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 4 found this helpful